Friday, July 30, 2021

WTC Final: Reason behind Jadeja dismissal despite Wagner backfoot crossing the return crease

New Zealand deservedly became the undisputed champions of cricket on Wednesday. They defeated Team India in the ICC World Test Championship Final at The Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Before facing India, Kiwis defeated England in the two-match Test series. While the first Test ended in a draw, the Black Caps made a terrific comeback in the next game. The visitors defeated England by 8 wickets at Edgbaston.

Rightly so, they won the Test series by 1-0. They approached the ICC WTC Final with complete confidence and upbeat mode. As it turned out, they perfectly executed their plans and reaped rewards in the intriguing final.

Rain played spoilsport for more than two days. However, the Kiwis still managed to produce a result and stunned Virat Kohli & Co. When the game pushed towards the final day, which is the reserve day, Kiwis were on top of the game.

WTC Final: Reason behind Jadeja dismissal despite Wagner backfoot crossing the return crease

Team India ended Day 5 with 64/2 with a lead of 32 runs. However, they failed to take the attack to the cleaners on the reserve day. When the batsmen had an easy chance to score runs in the second innings compared to the first, they failed to do it.

New Zealand pacers managed to bundle out India by taking 8 wickets. In the end, India were all out for 170 and thus gave New Zealand an easy target of 139 to chase in 53 overs on the final day.

Why Ravindra Jadeja was given out?

Meanwhile, a picture of Neil Wagner going beyond the return crease has indeed confused the fans. During India’s second innings, fans were taken aback when Wagner got rid of Ravindra Jadeja.

The left-arm pacer dismissed the all-rounder with a short delivery in the post-lunch session. Jadeja ended up getting an edge of his bat as wicketkeeper BJ Watling took a catch in his safe pair of gloves.

Meanwhile, the third umpire had to cross-check if Wagner’s backfoot didn’t go beyond the return crease. Apparently, it seemed that Wagner had gone wide of his crease to bowl the delivery (wicket-taking ball).

The TV replays showed that the bowler’s foot did cross the return crease. This led the fans to question the justification of the dismissal. The majority of the fans were of the opinion that the third umpire should have given it a ‘no-ball’.

What is the rule framed by the ICC?

As per rule 21.5.1, the touchdown spot of the bowler’s foot should not be in contact with the return crease to consider it legal delivery. “The bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery,” the law states.

Going by the rule, Wagner’s backfoot landed behind the return crease and the foot went beyond it later. This means that there were no issues in delivering the ball. As a result, Jadeja was given out.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

ADS

Top Articles

Recommended Articles

Latest Article

Must Read