WATCH: Ball slips out of Murugan Ashwin’s hand, umpire gives it as a no-ball

The IPL 2019 match between the Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi witnessed pretty much everything starting from some swashbuckling hitting from Chris Gayle to some sensational fielding first from Collin Ingram and then from Mandeep Singh. The match also had it’s share of fun moments with Shikhar Dhawan taunting Ravichandran Ashwin with his dance moves after the latter tried to Mankad him on the previous delivery.

Murugan Ashwin’s bizarre no ball would definitely make it to the list of comical incidents that took place on the field during the match. It all happened when Murugan Ashwin came on to bowl in the 7th over of the innings. With the dew around, the leg spinner found it really difficult to grip the ball, let alone bowling. The spinner lost his grip on the ball when he came on to bowl the second delivery of his spell which led to the ball dropping right in front of him and rolling over to the other side of the pitch.

Watch the video here:

Shreyas Iyer, who was facing the delivery, initially gave the impression he was going to smash it, but then left it alone for the keeper to pick it up. To everyone’s surprise, the umpire awarded it as a no ball and a free hit for Delhi much to the amazement of the bowler and the fielding side. It ended up being a free hit but the batsman knew very little about the free hit delivery as he mistimed it off the bottom edge through square leg. The previous rules would have resulted in the ball being called as a dead ball but it was rightly adjudged a no ball going by the current rules.

Earlier, Shreyas Iyer’s decision to bowl first went pretty well with the Delhi Capitals managing to restrict Kings XI Punjab to a below par total despite the early onslaught from Chris Gayle at the start of the innings. The 30-year-old top-scored for the Kings with 69 from 37 balls with six fours and five sixes. Mandeep Singh also contributed with a useful 30 from 27 with a four and a six. In the end, it was Ravichandran Ashwin and Harpreet Brar who scored 16 and 20 respectively to propel the Punjab total to 163/7 in 20 overs.

The Capitals started off their run-chase positively before a direct hit from Mandeep from the covers saw the end of Prithvi Shaw for 13 runs off 11 balls. Shikhar Dhawan and DC skipper Shreyas Iyer then took charge and kept the scoreboard ticking while also taking care of the required rate, by picking the odd boundary. Dhawan notched his 35th IPL half-century in 36 balls before being dismissed by Hardus Viljoen after scoring 56 runs from 41 balls with seven fours and a six. 

Rishabh Pant perished in the quest of getting some quick runs and Colin Ingram struck a couple of fours before bring castled by Mohammed Shami. Iyer however played a captain’s knock as he got to his fifty in 45 balls and stayed unbeaten on 58 from 49 to ensure that the home team made it over the line with 5 wickets and two balls to spare.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top