Kumar Sangakkara talks about MS Dhoni’s confusion during the 2011 WC Final toss & also about Sri Lanka’s injuries.
Former Sri-Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara speaks about the two tosses that took place before the 2011 World Cup. While talking to R Ashwin on the Instagram live session.
However, Cricketers use the platform of Instagram or other social media’s. For the purpose of Interacting with fans and revealing of old memories of there career.
However, World cup 2011 final played between India vs Sri Lanka at Wankhede stadium Mumbai. Whereas, two times toss taken before the start of the match. While live session on Instagram R Ashwin reminisced the incident and said, he was standing outside the dressing room. From where saw two times toss took place. But he was not having any idea and he walked inside.
Furthermore, Sangakkara replied that Wankhede’s crowd was more and this much crowd is not there in Sri Lanka. This huge amount of support for cricket only found in India, he added.
Confusion During Toss
Moreover, Sangakkara Stated that when he called the toss MS Dhoni was not sure about Sangakkara’s calling. He had called heads but MS Dhoni hasn’t listened to the voice due to crowds noise. Hence, MS said he haven’t called the toss. Then some confusion raised between the match referee and two captains.
Henceforth, at the beginning of the Biggest match of the history, MS suggested taking the toss once. Then also, as the luck of the Sri Lankan captain was with him and the toss won by him for the second time for the same match. On the other hand, a match won by India and Created a new history.
Sangakkara also reveals about the injuries during World Cup Final
Whereas, After winning the toss Sri Lanka elected to bat first. But if the toss might have won by India then India was going to choose to bat first.
According to Sangakkara, they wanted to choose the bowling first. Bu the injury of Angelo Mathews led their plan flop. Sangakkara stated, Mathews was good at number 7 so there was not an issue about chasing the score. But at the last moment, Mathews was unfit leads to change the team’s plan. He announced the reason for choosing to field first by explaining Mathews’s injury.
Furthermore, he said that result would be unknown but they might have chosen to chase the score. As he had the confidence over Mathews’s balance at tale batting.
Overall, India won its 2nd world cup after 28 years and make another big moment for the Indian Cricket. Whereas, all fans of Indian cricket still remember the words of Commentator Ravi Shastri, ” Dhoni Finishes in his style, Magnificent strike. India lifts the world cup after 28th years……”