Thursday, June 24, 2021

Five players with most T20 titles in the cricket history

In this era, T20 cricket has huge fan base and craze among the fans especially in the last decade. Although, ODI and test cricket has it’s own set of fans amdist craze for franchise cricket around the globe.

Franchise cricket has become popular and a major sporting event in certain countries. Likes of Indian Premier League, Big Bash League, and Carribbean Premier League have huge set of followers across the world.

The reason behind this success is the foreign players participating in these tournaments. Certain players ply their trade in almost every league likes of West Indian stars Pollard and Bravo. However, only few have been successful in adding feather to the cap.

Let’s take a look at the top five players, who have more T20 titles to their name.

Lasith Malinga has nine titles to his name (Image: BCCI)

5. Lasith Malinga – 9 Titles

Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga is one of the legends of limited overs cricket. Malinga has played in many T20 competitions across the globe. The Yorker specialist has even led his nation to T20 World Cup title in the year 2014. He has been successful over the years for Mumbai Indians in IPL. Being a crucial player for the side, Indians won title during 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 with the pacer.

Especially in 2019, Malinga delivered a beautiful Yorker to dismiss Shardul Thakur in the grand finale, when Malinga had to defend just a single run. The pacer also has a CLT20 title, which was also won being part of Mumbai Indians set-up. Malinga has a total of nine titles to his name.

4. Rohit Sharma – 10 Titles

Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma is one of the best T20 batsmen in the world. Rohit is known for his classy and timing shots to clear the boundary with ease. He is also one of the best skipper in the Indian Premier League with a better winning percentage. Rohit has led Mumbai Indians to five titles, which is quite impressive in modern day cricket.

Rohit’s first T20 title was with national side during 2007 World T20 tournament, which took place in South Africa. He also has a CLT20 title to his crown, which he won with Mumbai Indians. The successful skipper has ten titles overall in T20 tournaments.

3. Shoaib Malik – 12 Titles

Pakistani batsman Shoaib Malik is also one of the legends of this T20 format. The batting all-rounder has played across various countries in the modern day franchise cricket. Malik is known for his constructive innings in the middle order and also has the knack of taking wickets with his off-spin. He was also part of Delhi Daredevils in IPL during his prime time.

However, he has more success with his country in this particular format. He was also crucial part of 2009 T20 World Cup title winning Pakistani side. Malik has 12 titles and only Pakistani cricketer to have more than ten titles.

Dwayne Bravo has 14 league titles with his name (Image: Twitter)

2. Dwayne Bravo – 14 Titles

The West Indies all-rounder has many records to his name in this format. Bravo is not only known for his big hitting, but also for his variation with the ball. He can bowl cutters and slower balls at regular intervals, which is also his strength in T20 format. He has won two T20 World Cup titles with West Indies during 2012 and 2014.

Bravo also has good success with Chennai Super Kings, having won three titles with them. He also has two BBL titles with him and his recent success was with Trinbago Knight Riders. West Indian star has 14 titles to his name.

1. Kieron Pollard- 15 Titles

The Carribbean all-rounder has the most number of titles in T20 format. Pollard has 15 titles, one higher than his national teammate Bravo. He has been a vital part of Mumbai Indians and has stepped up everytime when his side needs him. The big lad has six titles with Mumbai Indians in IPL and CLT20 tournaments.

The 34-year-old can still deliver goods in T20 tournaments around the globe in franchise cricket. The all-rounder recently pulled-off an impossible run chase for Mumbai Indians against their arch rivals Chennai Super Kings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Top Articles

Recommended Articles

Latest Article

Must Read